Week 3 in Istanbul

On Monday I left Hannah and Ryan’s house and moved into my dorm in Etiler. It’s nice, a little small, but I’ve been so busy this week that I’m rarely home. The dorm I’m living in is about a 10 minute walk from the south campus of Boğaziçi University, and the walk is really nice.

 

This is the view from the south campus...it doesn't seem like a college campus could be this beautiful!

This is the view from the south campus…it doesn’t seem like a college campus could be this beautiful!

Sabreen and me

Sabreen and me

Arts and sciences building on campus

Arts and sciences building on campus

I’ve met a ton of other exchange students in the past few days. It’s kind of overwhelming and it feels like freshman year all over again! Last night I went to a big pub crawl in Hisarüstü with a lot of the other exchange students.

Today I went with a group of about 10 students to the Grand Bazaar in the old city. I didn’t buy anything, but I plan to go back later in the semester.

IMG_2936IMG_2944IMG_2958IMG_2980IMG_3014IMG_3030

Something I’m really loving is the food here. In the area near the university there are a lot of different restaurants, some are more American style and a little pricey but there are a lot of really authentic and inexpensive options. We found a pide and lamacun restaurant where lamacun is only 2.50 TL, or about $1.40 in USD. I don’t have a stove in my dorm, but I’m able to go grocery shopping and stock up on fresh produce and bread and yogurt which is great, and inexpensive compared to home.

4 thoughts on “Week 3 in Istanbul

  1. Did you see any ‘carpet shoes’?? (not sure if that is what they are called but you will know what I mean….) Work on your bargaining skills because I want a pair 😉

    • I did see a lot of flats similar to the ones in Saratoga! They were really pretty. The guy said the boots were 400 TL but he had large sizes so he could give them to me for 250 if I tried them on, so I think I could get them for less than 200. I think the flat shoes might be even less, when you come to visit we will check them out!

Leave a Reply

